Put Your Feet Up

golden rule (Tuesday, Jan. 17, 2006)

Well I�m not sure if I�m going to be writing a lot in this blog. I had an online diary before and when it was read by people that I knew, I felt like I couldn�t be free to say what I really wanted to say anymore.

I guess there�s something I need to get off of my chest. But for the protection of people�s privacy I will change names. If you recognize yourself, hey -sorry, this is my story and its coming from my angle.

About a month ago I went to a party and was feeling really beautiful and confident. Someone came up to me, (we will call him Brain- because he�s stupid) So Brain is pretty drunk, and falling down all over our table. He throws his arm around my friend Jen, and he said to me �Hey- I know you, you are friends with my buddy, Brad-weren�t you guys like hooked up or something? Aren�t you guys like- fuck buddies or something?
I didn�t feel like discussing my private life really with Brain, and everyone else within earshot. So I just shrugged him off, but of course Brain didn�t want to let it drop, So he said �Well, either way- I just want to tell you that Brad�s girlfriend isn�t as pretty as you, and you shouldn�t let that bother you. � When he saw me making a face. He said �Oh You didn�t know he had a girlfriend? Well that shouldn�t bother you, Besides you look like the type of girl that wouldn�t mind anyway, You should still be hookin� up with that dude, you know, a guys gotta right to be with whoever he wants; whenever he wants; and you shouldn�t stop hookin up with him just because he has a girlfriend�

So I told him, �were not together, and I�m sure he probably does have a girlfriend� and I just ignored him, because he was obviously drunk rambling on about a bunch of stuff, and really seemed to be making a fool of himself. I was totally embarrassed.
Well a few days before this party, there a little back story. I had been seeing Brad casually over the summer, but it wasn�t very recent. I had been in contact with Brad the week before, and we had plans to go out. But I got a weird text message, at 12:30 am, on Wednesday night canceling our plans. It said �sorry I cant make it on Friday, I got back together with my EX.� the next day he Text�d me again saying �sorry about that message, I didn�t write that�. Truthfully I didn�t know or care what the real story was, I was just kind of confused and didn�t feel like playing any games.
We talked recently, and I told Brad that I didn�t have any hard feelings towards him, and I really got my feelings hurt because BRAIN ran his mouth.
I really like Brad too. Every time I�m around him, he makes me laugh hysterically, and he�s very thoughtful. He�s easy to be around, and there�s no pressure. He has these great blue eyes too.. Sigh.. Anyway.. I might go out with him again, I will just be careful. Besides Brad always knows how to apologize for all his dorky friends/ roommates.

Ever since this whole thing has happened, I haven�t had really any interest in dating anyone anymore. I�ve turned like 3 people down cold. If im not willing to trust people�s intentions for a simple date, I shouldn�t waste their time. I just wanted to take a step back and look at myself, saying, Am I putting off some kind of vibe that would make people think I�m somebody�s hook up/ sex buddy? Aren�t I good enough to be someone�s real girlfriend? Do people even make it official anymore? Why do I keep getting left out? Why was I the only person at this party without a real date?
This whole episode, (plus some New years Eve BS, )Has just left me totally scarred and left to question my friendships. If I was really important to you, wouldn�t you want me around? If you were at a party-would it bother you that I was home alone? If I was important to you, wouldn�t you treat me that way that I treat you?

So while I ponder my friendships, My new years resolution had been to only be 50/50 with my friends� I will take a step back and say � would this person do the same thing for me?� If they wouldn�t -then forget it. If I feel like someone is using me, then forget it. If you wouldn�t invite me to your house, then you wont ever get invited to mine. If you put me low on your list of priorities, you don�t rank high on mine either. I wont be pushed around anymore. Because the only person that seems to get their feelings hurt is me.

Treat people the way you would like to be treated in return.

previous || next