Put Your Feet Up

(almost ran over)Ran into Jared (Friday, Jul. 23, 2004)

I got an email from my old friend Brian.. we were friends 13 yrs. since the seventh grade....anyway he's in the army now and I havent talked to him in like a year and a half... but he emailed me today and told me he's in japan....Maybe he's close to where Sam is... He works in VET services which i guess means that he inspects food for commisaries and shit like that. It was great to know he's alive though. He last called me from the middle east about a month after the war started and he told me I would always be his buddy and he loved me (as a friend) but because i hadnt heard from him in so long...it was making me worried he was dead or something... I wish he was here though...

Something incredibly wild happened today.....

I was driving home on the 94 freeway, and all the sudden i noticed traffic stopping and there was about 5 people walking in the median right next to the fast lane.. they had all pulled there cars over and gotten out of the cars....

and there was a cop there....trying to control-- WHATEVER was going on.....I thought there was some accident or something...

So i slowed down to like 15mph... so the people walking on the freeway wouldnt get hit, and this guy walking in the median looks over at me and its JARED.(my ex-boyfriend of like 2 years i have mentioned on and off in this diary..) I kept driving but i waved at him, and he was totally shocked....I could have ran him over... I kept going on the freeway twards hunters school,,,but it seemed as though he was following me...I forgot he kind of lived over around that area though.....so when i get off the freeway i am in a turn lane and he's in the lane next to it that continues straight - he gestured for me to pull over at the gas station ....

(he was trying to catch a dog that got hit on the freeway and was still running through trafic wildly)

So anyway he tells me that he's getting out of the navy and leaving for florida in 29 days... and he cant wait -- blah blah etc. Navy sucks- I should get out and all that. Its the same conversation i've heard before... I told him that i was going to be mad if he wasted his life and turned out to be a pot smoking loser.....

He told me that he was thinking about writing me a EMAIL to say goodbye- before he left- and he was having a going away- party but he kind of joked that his girlfriend probably wouldnt like it if i was there.... (Not that I would feel comfortable going anyway...) Plus -I told him it wasnt really cool anyway-I told him that Sam and I were still together..ETC.

I told him all about how we went to D-land about how we are doing.. blah blah....Im sure he didnt care for hearing so much about my man. I showed him a picture of us.......and he didnt recognize him...good thing.....

But basically I just told him good luck and good bye..... I know now that he leaves Calif.. that I will never see him again...

I was kind of sad....I cried when he left because i realize that I will never see him again....EVER ...4 and a half years after I met him... Its really over.... I gave him a hug and he thanked me for everything... He told me that he figures if he handnt met me then instead he would have been on the USS Cole when it was bombed... then he never would have come to Calif and never met people.. and had these experiences.... So i just said goodbye to him, hugged him and drove off..

The whole thing is really weird... It makes me nervous to see him again.. from the miniute when i almost ran him over.. to the time he drove off.. too see him again--it makes me sort of sick to my stomach....and makes my heart pound... But i feel like it must have been fate for me to run into to him ... so we could say goodbye right before he leaves here forever... It just sort of puts an ending on the whole thing for me... you know?

I just knew that I would see him one last time right before he left.... I had a premonition of it.... I guess im never really prepared for it though.... I guess there was a purpose for me leaving work at the exact moment i did, so i could almost run him over on the freeway.....I totally believe it was fate yesterday so that We could say good bye to each other...

The whole incident was wild and left my brain all crazy..... for the rest of the day... I really couldnt think about anything else and i couldnt even concentrate enough to watch a TV show...

I didnt know if i was going to tell Sam.. because he isnt really a jealous type but he wouldnt like to hear about it im sure..... but since i figured i would write about it in my diary... And anyone could read it there.. then if i hadnt mentioned it to Sam then I knew he would think it was something i was trying to hide from him... and nothing happened anyway so i dont have anything to hide.....

Well I got today off of work becuase of the crazy base security stuff for the USS Reagan... Secret service shit and all that for Nancy R. is going to make it almost impossible to get onbase to Coronado island soooo we all have the day off except for duty section people... At least someone at AIMD where i work is looking out for us.... it would have been a traffic nightmare.....

I couldnt even get gas for the Duty truck yesterday because they closed off all the streets around the gas station in a 5 blosk radius and the NEX complex to keep it secure even thought the ship hadnt even pulled in to S.D. yet......

Im glad im not at work... but today will be another day of apartment hunting and all... Wish me luck!

previous || next