Put Your Feet Up

maybe i can sleep (Thursday, Apr. 24, 2003)

well its finally over.

My court case was today and he plead guilty . so that means he has one strike against him in california, plus 5 years probation, and he has to be a registered sex offender forever.

I went to the courthouse with a knot in my stomach ..and it got worse when i got up to the courtroom and saw everyone standing there. The D.A went into the court room and they figured out which new court room we were going to be transferred to. so we go downstairs.. and sit outside and wait like half an hour...and the only people inside are the two lawyers..detective Ted Williams and Jalon Canales. Jacob and i were sitting together on a bench talking about everything else besides the court case..

so they come out after like a half an hour...for a recess and the DA lady (Phyllis) tells me that Canales's lawyer is going over the charges against him and giving him advice about what he should do...plead guilty and get the minimum sentence or go to trial and probably get found guilty anyway and get a slightly bigger sentence..and we are waiting some more..so he goes in and signs papers saying that he is going to plead guilty to the charge of "oral copulation of an unconscious person".

so after these papers are all signed and worked out we finally (jacob; Ramos and i ) are allowed in the courtroom. I look over and i saw Canales crying, wiping his eyes.

The judge comes in and they read off the charges "on or about Dec 13th of 2002 you committed an act of oral copulation on an unconscious person,and he says how do you plead.. Canales says,"i plead guilty." and my stomach just dropped , it hurt so bad. it just turned out so terrible. this whole situation.

I really felt king of bad for the guy. So they go over and explain the charges again..to make sure he understands what he is pleading to...and then the DA reminds that this is always going to remain a strike on his record..and that she wishes that there might be put into effect a "no contact order"..because she didnt believe there to be one,,and the judge asks if that is my wish and so every one whips around and looks my way..and i felt like his eyes were all over me.. i was so grossed out.

The Da and i go back to her office and i read the transcripts to Jalon's interview with the police, and maybe i shouldnt have read them, they just grossed me out. but the story he gave was that he knew that we were coming back to the room and were "busy " and he fell asleep in the bathroom and we were on the bed. he describes how he woke up and came out into the room were he saw me with my dress sort of hiked up a little and he said that we didnt exchange words..he just came over and pulled my underwear over and started to go down on me. What really grossed me out is that he had a exceptional memory of it ..like he knew what was going on. he even remembered the color of my underwear. he thought i was onto it because according to him i was moaning and saying oh yes. Then there was the whole thing about me beating him in the face with my shoe..i used to think he was sort of out of it for that but obviously he remembered it.He was feeling like i used a strong word "Rape" in the hotel when i was in the bathroom telling Jacob what had happened..and he said the only thing he regretted was not making sure that i was absolutely consenting to it.

I just dont know what to make of this whole thing..the Transcripts were horrible..i cant believe or imagine that they would have read those statements out loud.i can see now why he plead guilty,, his statements to the police were kind of shady.. hopefully i will feel better and be able to sleep at night now,,im just glad its over.

previous || next